« Marion County - Tennessee | Main | Grundy County - Tennessee »

Franklin County - Tennessee


HISTORY of FRANKLIN COUNTY First white settlers arrived about 1800
County established December 3, 1807
Organized April 25, 1808
Formed from White County
County named in honor of Benjamin Franklin
County represented the Colonies at the Court of France
Helped create the Declaration of Independence
Negotiated treaty with England for colony's independence
Thirteen boundary changes since 1807
Moore, Coffee, Grundy, and Marion counties have been created from old Franklin County
County formed by legislature December 3, 1807
County home to four Tennessee governors, Harris, Marks, Turney and Horton