« Watch for Falling Rocks | Main | Franklin County - Tennessee »

Marion County - Tennessee


Chronology of Marion County land area

Indian territory , pre 1777
Washington County, NC 1777
Davidson County, TN 1783
Sumner County 1792
Smith County 1799
White County 1806
Warren County 1807
Franklin County 1807
Finally Marion County 1817

Indian Village, Chiaha  located on a Tennessee River island near South Pittsburg
County created from Bledsoe and White Counties and Indian lands
Formed by a legislative act of November 20, 1817
Boundary lines extended south only to the Tennessee River
Boundaries extended to state line, 1819
The first county seat located in East Liberty (near Cheekville or Whitwell)
First court held in home of John Shropshire
County seat moved to Jasper 1820